Glory Days: seeing Springsteen live

Image 6

Springsteen at Metlife Stadium (NJ), September 21, 2012 Photo by: Danny O’Brien

I’ve got to say that I’m a little, let’s be honest, very envious of the European Bruce fans who get to see Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band live this spring. The setlists are killing me! As of yet, there are no North American dates announced and while my bank account is very happy about that, my soul is a little sad.

I can only comfort myself by reminiscing about the four times I saw him last year. That may sound like a lot to common folks, i.e. non Bruce Tramps, but it’s nothing compared to some other hardcore fans. If time, money and geography weren’t an issue, I would’ve gone to at least a dozen more.

My live Bruce journey began on April 13, 2012 in Buffalo NY. It was my first time with GA tickets and was lucky enough to make it into the pit thanks to a very sweet gentleman. (For more on GA/ pit access, click here). I had seen Bruce five times before that, but seeing him from the pit for the first time was surreal!!! I still get goosebumps just thinking about it.

Show highlight: Making it into the pit!

Screen Shot 2013-05-09 at 11.29.11 PMbuffalo

Next on the list was the Toronto show on August 24. I went solo and had a great spot in the second row in front of Nils and Soozie. I even got a full-on Bruce handshake during “Spirit in the Night” as he passed by us – it was hard to let go! But even without Bruce-contact, it was one of the funnest show I’d ever attended. It had it all: beautiful weather, fantastic setlist and great energy.

Show highlight: Incident on 57th Street, Bruce solo on piano, ’nuff said!

IMG_1121Toronto

About a month later I was on my way to the Mecca of Springsteen land: New Jersey. He was playing three sold-out shows at Metlife Stadium and I had GA tickets to night 2. I showed up at the stadium at 10am to insure I was one of the first 1000 people to stand in line for pit wristbands. I was number 49!

206251_10152151011525444_1977018735_n_MG_8307418526_10152151012730444_1224040939_n

A few hours later they pick out the number for first entry into the pit. 59 was the lucky number, which means I was the 941st person to enter the stadium. What can I say I’m just not lucky with numbers…got a good spot after all and met some native Jersey boys: Dan and Danny. These great shots below are courtesy of Danny O’Brien from North Jersey.

Image 5Image 4

New JerseyShow highlight: Seeing Gary U.S. Bonds and Bruce perform “This Little Girl” and “Jole Blon” together. (See Cover You Cover Me post for background detail.) I’ve been dreaming about a Bonds guest appearance for some time and can’t tell you how happy I was. Wow!

My final Springsteen show was on October 19 in Ottawa. My experience was well documented in a previous blog post, but there’s one picture you might not have seen:

Screen Shot 2013-05-11 at 1.17.07 PM

front page of Brucespringsteen.net, the day after the show. Photo credit: Jo Lopez

Photo link here. That’s yours truly in the front row, arm in the air, sandwiched between green shirt man and glasses man.

OttawaShow highlights:  Prove It ’78 and Drive All Night. I’d been chasing the latter for eight years! There are no words to describe what it’s like to see it performed live with my elbows on the stage.

THANK YOU BRUCE, STEVIE, MAX, GARY, ROY, NILS, JAKE, SOOZIE, CHARLES, E STREET HORNS, E STREET CHOIR, AND TOM FOR THE CONCERT MEMORIES OF A LIFETIME. NOW, PLEASE ANNOUNCE NORTH AMERICAN TOUR DATES WITH A STOP IN MONTREAL!

One thought on “Glory Days: seeing Springsteen live

Leave a Reply

